top of page

The branches of Yoga

Hatha Yoga Athens Greece

Hatha Yoga 

Hatha Yoga is one of the most popular branches of yoga and focuses on strengthening the physical body through physical exercises (asana) and breath control (pranayama).

Hatha Yoga techniques first promote the purification of the physical body so that all systems work in harmony. Breathing is smooth and expanded providing the body with the required energy.

Nada Yoga Athens

All the techniques of Nada yoga use sound as a transformative tool. Sound or vibration is the first manifestation of Consciousness. From it, the movement of matter occurs. Mantras relax the senses and purify the mind, turning it inwards and thus inducing a meditative state.

Bhakti Yoga

When we talk about Bhakti Yoga we mean the Yoga of devotion and the path of offering all of our feelings to the Divine. Our emotions are expressed, purified and transformed into bhava, which is the complete channelling of all human emotions to the One. The extraordinary fact is that all these aspects of Yoga are interconnected and related. They sound or look different where they are only aspects and approaches of one thing.

Karma Yoga

The practice of Karma Yoga is the path of detached action. It is a form of dynamic meditation which we can integrate into action. Swami Satyananda Saraswati said that in order to receive the benefits of any form of Yoga, we have to incorporate Karma Yoga into it.

The branches of Yoga

Nada Yoga Athens Greece

Raja Yoga

Raja Yoga, often referred to as the "Royal Yoga" or "Yoga of Meditation," is one of the classical paths of yoga outlined in ancient Indian philosophical and spiritual traditions. It is one of the six orthodox (astika) schools of Hindu philosophy and is primarily associated with the sage Patanjali, who is believed to have codified and systematized Raja Yoga in his famous text, the "Yoga Sutras."

The field of Raja Yoga explores the mind and is the path of meditation. The mind becomes aware of its patterns and functionings and progresses towards its own awakening.

Awareness / Consciousness 

This one thing which is Consciousness manifests into endless things. All these paths lead to the same goal, the expansion of Awareness. Yoga is vast, like the oceans, like the stars, and can't be explained with words but experienced through its many powerful practices. Awareness is the foundation of any yoga journey and our approach is centered around this principle. We work with students to create a mindful practice and awaken their inner awareness. 

Laya Yoga

Laya Yoga, also known as Kundalini Yoga or the Yoga of Dissolution, is a lesser-known and advanced form of yoga that focuses on awakening and harmonizing the dormant spiritual energy within the individual. This energy is often depicted as a coiled serpent, known as Kundalini, located at the base of the spine. The term "laya" itself means dissolution or merging.

Seva Yoga

Seva Yoga, often referred to as the "Yoga of Service" or "Karma Yoga," is a spiritual path within the broader tradition of yoga that emphasizes selfless service as a means of achieving spiritual growth and self-realization. "Seva" is a Sanskrit word that means "selfless service" or "volunteer work," and this practice involves serving others without attachment to personal gain or recognition.

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
bottom of page